Stressed out? Complementary therapies in London


I got into massage and the so-called complementary therapies after arriving in London. Before I got here, I used to think that massage was for sportmen and women and rich people. Remember those movie scenes where James Bond and rich business men got massaged by beautiful ladies at luxurious spas?

I have learnt that they actually are quite useful and that there is a whole science behind it. Well – I also like trying new things out! During the last decade, complementary and holistic therapies have experienced a huge growth in UK and other countries. In fact, I personally know of many professionals who have recently re-trained as therapists.

It goes well beyond the well-known Swedish massage.Complementary therapies On the one hand, there is Thai massage or ´yoga for lazy people´(indeed! Just watch a bit of the video), Hawaiian, Indian head massage or hot stones massage to name but a few. There are also some techniques that help to improve or re-gain movement.

I got deeply interested in the Rossiter Technique in the last few months after it helped me with some pain in my lower back and shoulders, due to computer work. Just like pilates or the Alexander technique, it is about exercise. It consists of a series of coached stretches that address the connective tissue of the area where pain or tightness are present. No need to undress and it usually takes one or two short sessions to sort the problem out.

I can tell this therapy has a great future as part of the employees´care policy of any company!

About A Londoner from Afar

Cheese & choc lover, marketer and linguist who would like to explore and share those aspects that still have the power to make her stay in the amazingly vibrant city of London after nearly 10 years.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to read your comments!