A Londoner from Afar Goes to Paris


I know. I haven’t posted in a while. Sorry! It’s been quite hectic at my end – a bit of travelling, a bit of music, a bit of art, etc. Now, I have a good few more cool things to write about.

My trip to Paris was brilliant. I went to Paris a few days ago to visit friends and enjoy a bit of the sun that we don’t get too see too often in London. Just like in London and many other cities, it had been a really long winter, and they were starting to enjoy better weather at the time. I hadn’t realise how much I missed it.

Paris is definitely different from London. It has all the caveats of a big city, but I find that I could easily get used to certain things I could experience there if I was to leave London for Paris.

A Londoner form Afar Goes to Paris - Patisserie

  • It is easier to live on a flat on your own for about the same rent that you pay for a room here.
  • The water quality has been improved and it is now hugely better than water in London.
  • Affordable quality fresh food that is easy to get. Check the cakes picture on the right.
  • More chilled out culture. It doesn’t mean that they don’t work hard. It’s just that they take things in a more relaxed manner.

Art is one of its biggest selling points. I visited a few galleries to have a feel for the kind of art that was exhibited. I was amazed by how trendy contemporary art seemed to be there, specially Lichtenstein-inspired works. Street art was also present in Parisian street, which suprised me in a nice way, because I wasn’t expecting anything else apart from the usual letters on the wall. But, I could also find them in popular squares.

Can you spot the fake window or windows?

A Londoner form Afar Goes to Paris - Fake windows

How did they get up there to paint this?

A Londoner form Afar Goes to Paris - Birdie

I love this ostrich. It reminded me of a Roa when I first saw it.

A Londoner form Afar Goes to Paris - Ostrich

Thanks for reading my post!

A Londoner from Afar

About A Londoner from Afar

Cheese & choc lover, marketer and linguist who would like to explore and share those aspects that still have the power to make her stay in the amazingly vibrant city of London after nearly 10 years.
This entry was posted in Art, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Londoner from Afar Goes to Paris

  1. laniersmith says:

    Isn’t Paris Wonderful!! Love the post and the photos.

    Like

  2. I love Paris and hope I get to go again soon! I love your practical information and also the great pictures of the street art there. Thanks for posting this so I could reminisce a bit on my time there.

    Like

  3. Great pictures – that ostrich is cool. I find the Metro really annoying. Just thought I’d let you know!

    Like

  4. Wanderlust23 says:

    I know where that Ostrich is! I stayed at a hotel not far from there my last trip to Paris. I have to say that I was skeptical before going but I really do like the city. Also there are many things I like there more than London but alas, I am not fluent in french. Otherwise I think it could be a contender for places I’d like to live.

    Like

I'd love to read your comments!

