Awesome


Riots, pacific demonstrations that go wrong everywhere in the world… Let´s talk about something else.

I have had that feeling again, which words cannot possibly contain – awesomeness? Incredulity?

Last night, there was this Iron Maiden gig at The O2 in Greenwich.  It was my first time Metal babyseeing them, and although it was not the first big gig I had ever attended, I still can´t believe I was there. All my life looking forward to being able to enjoy music in big venues and in small venues, and in London! There I was, enjoying the energy that Maiden displayed on stage (I wanna have the same energy when I hit 50!)

I had the same feeling a few other times. For example, when I saw Muse for the first time or whenever I take a stroll in London or visit any of those cities that everyone seems to have been to. I had to kick myself to make sure the image I was seeing on the stage was not some sort of augmented reality  of Muse, London Eye, etc.

This also works when I see movies or watch TV series. I saw this Sherlock Holmes (Robert Downey Jr, Jude Law) movie with friends, back at home, some 2 years ago. I could recognise and relate to most of the places shown! Just like this other Sherlock TV series, which is set up in our times. I could even recognise the Top Shop on The Strand!!

I reckon that it is all related to the fact that  did not use to do any travel, anything when I was at home. Having someone else to share some those experiences has helped too. I´m also growing old…

Have you ever had this ´I can´t believe I´m here´ or ´I know that place´ feeling?

About A Londoner from Afar

Cheese & choc lover, marketer and linguist who would like to explore and share those aspects that still have the power to make her stay in the amazingly vibrant city of London after nearly 10 years.
This entry was posted in Events, Miscellaneous, Music, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Awesome

  1. Minafog says:

    Then you should go to a Roger Waters´ show … btw, he turned 67 last September, and he will leave you speechless!!

    Like

I'd love to read your comments!

